The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (Metro) was created by an interstate compact in 1967 to plan, develop, build, finance, and operate a balanced regional transportation system in the national capital area. Metro began building its rail system in 1969, acquired four regional bus systems in 1973, and began operating the first phase of Metrorail in 1976. Today, Metrorail serves 91 stations and has 117 miles of track. Metrobus serves the nation’s capital 24 hours a day, seven days a week with 1,500 buses. Metrorail and Metrobus serve a population of approximately 4 million within a 1,500-square mile jurisdiction. Metro began its paratransit service, MetroAccess, in 1994; it provides about 2.3 million trips per year.





There are seven Metrorail stations located in the DowntownDC BID area, with access to all six Metrorail lines:

McPherson Square

1400 I Street NW

Metro Center

607 13th Street NW

Gallery Place - Chinatown

630 H Street NW

Federal Triangle

302 12th Street NW

Mt Vernon Sq 7th St-Convention Center

700 M Street NW

Judiciary Square

450 F Street NW

Archives-Navy Memorial-Penn Quarter

701 Pennsylvania Avenue NW